Truck ordered, not used.

loaders

Site Supporter
I am trying to get a feel for what other members consider to be adequate notice of a load cancellation. Certainly "last minute" notice, where the truck is either on site to load or enroute to the shipper needs to be charged a TONU. But what about when some additional heads ups is offered? For example, I booked a load with you last Friday for Monday pick up. Over the weekend I received an urgent email from my shipper advising me that the freight will not be ready (put in your own reason here) as promised for Monday pick up. Being a good broker, I send an email to the carrier over the weekend and follow up first thing Monday morning with a phone call confirming the bad news. In this hypothetical, but unfortunately oh so common situation, assuming the carrier is still getting unloaded at his delivery, have I provided them with enough notice to prevent a TONU charge? If the carrier got emptied over the weekend and the driver was either banking some off duty hours, or having an extra coffee before sauntering to get loaded, I get it, TONU. My question is, how much advance notice is enough? Once we have successfully wrestled this question to the mat, we can start with the converse question, how much notice should a carrier give a shipper/broker that they are bailing on the load they accepted?*****just joking**** ( maybe)

Last edited:

MikeJr

Staff member
If I was not participating in a Biggest Loser challenge here at the office and also not on a Whole30 meal plan which excludes alcohol I'd hook up for a scotch and cigar for this discussion.