Self-Regulating -- Self-Governing

Gino_Ducati

Site Supporter
Good morning,

I am fairly new to the trucking industry, I am not a Driver/Operator, Carrier, or hold any affiliation with any transport company.

Going through some of the threads on this forum and speaking a few people in this industry, there does not seem to any one set of rules of practice or guidelines for operations.

The MTO and the Province look after the safety of the general public on the roads, but no one really manages the ethics and operations of any transport company.

In the last few months I have come across a number of ethical and unethical practices in the industry; everything from skimming from clients and other drivers. Having shippers and receivers pay longer than the allowed net time.

My question, is there a self-regulating or self-governing body or organization that protects the driver/operators and transport companies from shippers/receivers and the general public?

Thank you,
For your responses.

Gino_Ducati

Site Supporter
Would there be benefits to have a regulatory body that would protect the industry that is managed by people who have experience in the industry?

AccountsReceivable@DRC

Staff member
You can put any "body' into that job that has 30+ years in trucking (various capacities). Won't do any good if that "body" isn't recognized or given any consideration by a "governing" body.

That's the issue. Industry people have tons to say....and an overflow of efficient, cost effective and fantastic ideas to improve transportation. Now relaying those ideas to someone who will actually listen and getting an individual who actually has the authority to make any changes....whole different ball game.

Transportation is one of the largest industries in the world....lots of voices...just no one listening.....hence the state we are in now.

martinetav