Captive Insurance - Thoughts?

TRKINSURE

Hi guys - given the name, I'm an insurance broker . There is a lot of talk lately, due to the hardening of the market, regarding captive insurance programs. What are your thoughts?

A captive in essence is a group of likeminded individuals with similar operations who pool their money (otherwise insurance dollars) together to form an off-shore (yah I know) insurance company. They when purchase in bulk, an insurance policy for the large group with a very large deductible. When you have a profitable insurance year, you reap the benefits. That's a very broad overview, obviously with insurance nothing is without detail..

While I do have vast knowledge on the topic (I have worked on 2 operating in Ontario here) I want to know what the buyers think of the programs out there. What are your deciding factors on when to (or not to) join in something like this? PRO's/CON's??? I want to hear it all from you.

Is there anything that can be improved to make the transition into something like a captive easier? I'm all ears... I can't stand asking my hard working customers for $15,000 - $20,000/per unit for a Cali lane... not getting those premiums yet????? be prepared..

loaders

Site Supporter
Truckinsure, I would be interested in hearing your thoughts are as to what you feel is driving this anticipated increase in insurance premiums. Has it been an increase in loss ratio across the industry, or is it a result of the continuing low interest rate environment causing the decline in insurance company profits?

TRKINSURE

Truckinsure, I would be interested in hearing your thoughts are as to what you feel is driving this anticipated increase in insurance premiums. Has it been an increase in loss ratio across the industry, or is it a result of the continuing low interest rate environment causing the decline in insurance company profits?